Just another day

Yesterday began just like any other day:  Woke up with the alarm, took dog for her walk, got ready for work, etc., so why would the day be any different?  

Gene had left for work and I was busy getting myself ready so I could get out the door and to the office before it got too late.  I was finalizing my routine when the front doorbell rang “Ding Dong!”.  It was 9:36am, and I was shocked that anyone would be at the door.  Since I wasn’t in any position to be able to answer the door, I decided to just let it go.  The next thing I heard was the doorbell at the side door ring “Ding!”.  Kona, not liking the sound of door bells, ran to both doors with her howling bark. After a minute or two,  I was finally able to make it to the door, and whoever had been there was now nowhere to be seen.  Okay!  

Since the “door bell adventure” was over, I could finally finish up and get out the door.  Knowing that I had to stop for gas before getting on the highway, I pulled into a local gas station and pulled up to the pump. The pump displayed a “system failure” message.  GREAT!  Luckily, another pump was open for me to swing around and pull up to.  PHEW!  I reached for my credit card and it wasn’t there.  I searched frantically only to then remember that I had pulled it out the night before and forgot to put it back.  BACK home I go to retrieve the card and then BACK to the gas station.  Wasted time!

After the “gas station adventure”, the rest of my morning progressed without further incident – until lunch.  Because my time was limited, I decided to go to a neighborhood eatery that many like, but I’m not a major fan of.  I sat down at my booth and decide that I want red skin potato salad, and butter steamed yellow squash with onions for my sides. I was undecided on my main dish, but I finally decided on the fried flounder.  Within a few moments, my meal came out and I began to admire the size of the flouder.  I used my fork to break through the outer crispiness to get to the flesh of the flounder.  I found myself perplexed because my fork didn’t easily cut through the fish, but I passed it off to being a thick cut of fish.  I decided to use my knife and found that I actually had to CUT the fish.  Hmmm…as soon as I took a bite, I was horrified to realize that the fish was COLD.  I immediately sent the flounder back and exchanged it for something else.  I began to wonder how this could have happened, unless the cook decided to fry a frozen piece of fish rather than a piece that had already been thawed.  BLECH!!  

Given that the “flounder adventure” was finally over, I looked forward to when I could begin my trek home.  Typically, I take Kona for her walk, but I decided to switch things up a bit and let her run around in the back yard.  Earlier in the day, Gene and told me that Kona got a hold of something white and stinky and that a piece of it looked similar to an egg shell.  Whenever Kona gets into things, we have no problem reaching into her mouth and pulling it out.  Gene told me that the stink was all over the leash and that he couldn’t get the stink out of his nose.  I was able to concur, after getting a whiff of the leash, that the stink was nasty.  It smelled like death. Dead what, I had no idea, but it definitely smelled like something dead. Watching Kona in the back yard, I noticed her rubbing all over something in one particular spot. As I approached, I noticed a broken bird’s egg, and then I noticed a smell on Kona’s coat – the same smell on the leash.  After doing some investigating, I realized that she had broken into an old nest that had been built in one of my hanging planters last year.  God only knows what else was in that nest besides a shell.  Either way, she found it and indulged.  

With the mystery of the stink solved, Kona made it clear that she wanted to go for her walk.  With Gene now home, we embarked on the walk.  Almost home, we met up to chat with some neighbors who are moving.  Low and behold, they had found four abandoned kittens on the property.  Only being about 3 weeks old, they were SO adorable and cute, and my heart melted. The little balls of fluff were all curled up to one another as one ball of fur. Unfortunately, due to allergies, the neighbors could not keep the kittens and were planning to take them to the SPCA.  I would have swooped those kittens up in a heartbeat and dropper-fed them, but Kona doesn’t do well with cats, and those kittens would have become her evening appetizers.  Kona watched me with tremendous jealousy as I held one of the kittens.  I am a cat person and love cats, but I have a dog that could live to be over 20 years old.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my dog, but wish I could have fostered these little kittens.

With the “kitten adventure” over, and back inside, our Monday evening closed as any other Monday evening – Jeopardy, Dancing with the Stars, and me doing laundry late into the evening.

It’s been an adventurous day, and Tuesday will surely bring it’s own set of adventures.  I’ll look forward to what they may be.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

