Hello…

My name is Sally, and I’m a chocoholic.

I’ve enjoyed chocolate for as long as I can remember.  I started young.

My particular weakness has always been for dark chocolate, and one of my favorites has become Ghiaradelli Dark Chocolate brownies.  It’s a symphony of dark chocolate yumminess. MmmMmm!!!

While not all chocolate is made the same, I will allow myself to indulge on milk chocolate, but only if it’s quality chocolate.  Quality chocolate?  Yes.  Ferrero Rocher, Hershey’s with almonds, and Ritter Sports Bar, just to name a few.  I don’t like cheap chocolate as it’s primarily all sugar and has very little chocolate flavoring.   It’s a waste of time and money.

I eat Hershey’s kisses like most people eat potato chips, except I put the chocolate kiss in my mouth, and let it melt and envelope every taste bud. A purely ethereal delight!  While this savoring of chocolate goodness is happening, I fold the foil and then proceed to roll it into a ball.

I’ve heard it said that the first step to recovery is admitting that there’s a problem.  Is chocolate really a problem?  Well, perhaps.  I REALLY enjoy chocolate – perhaps a little too much.  I know it has sugar, which isn’t good, and too much of that is a bad thing, too.   But sugar-free chocolate just isn’t the same.  It looks shiny, doesn’t have a warm chocolatey smell, and tastes blah!  Not to mention the sweetener used in sugar-free chocolate has uncomfortable side-effects.  Am I the only person who feels that way?

Perhaps, once Easter has come and gone, it will be time for me to start passing up the chocolate and getting back to better eating/snacking habits.  Perhaps some structured exercise will be in order again, too.  So much to think about!

Maybe I’ll log my success here, because accountability can be a good thing.

 

Leave a Reply

